Skip to content

Old News! New Lips?

February 11, 2010

My boyfriend woke me up one morning. He was worried that I actually had died during the night. I couldn’t understand what he was going on about. He pointed at my lips and I got up to look myself in the mirror. My lips were covered in blood, and a stripe had run all the way down to my chin. How flattering I thought to myself. I looked like I’d been involved in a bar brawl. Oh no. Try dry winter lips. That’s when I decided to buy a new lip balm. If you’re like me, you have a huge stash of different lip balms and glosses strategically spread around in different bags and coats. One older than the next. This needs to stop somehow. I need to find the perfect lip balm and throw away the rest. So I did my research and googled “good lip balm”. Who the heck does research on a lip balm anyways? If bleeding from a split lip became a habit, you would too. I tell you this though; my search pointed in one direction and that was towards the EOS Lip Balm. Apparently, this product has been hyped for quite some time now, but was the hype right? I went out and bought the EOS Summer Fruit Lip Balm (there are three different types).

My verdict:

+ Moisturized my lips pretty well.
+ Nice smell
+ Fun design
+ Almost a 100% organic
+ No Parabens.
+ Not tested on animals

– The design can make it hard to carry in a pocket.
– A bit expensive (80kr=13.50$)
– Didn’t moisturize my lips enough.

My lips feel way better. I actually like this lip balm, but right now it doesn’t moisturize my lips enough. Maybe it will work better when the weather gets warmer?

My lips are very, very dry, but if you don’t need as much moisture as me, this lip balm will suit you just fine. EOS seems to be a lot better that the stuff you get at the grocery stores though. As for me, the hunt for the perfect lip balm continues.

-Sara

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink*
    February 11, 2010 6:11 pm

    You found it! I’ve been searching every store in town that the website said had it in stock. But no one has it in stock! I wanted to send you one if I found it. I also wanted one for myself. It’s great that it’s organic. But I too need something that really, really moisturizes. So I’m glad you posted this. Helpful hints! I’m going to search for some new lip balm today in fact, so I’ll let you know if I find that perfect one for dry lips 🙂

  2. sarapj permalink*
    February 11, 2010 6:50 pm

    I’ve had it for quite some time now actually. If they are really inexpensive in The States you should try one . If not, find something even better. Unfortunately, the best lip balms will probably cost you.

  3. February 12, 2010 4:03 am

    I think they’re about $3 or so. But the stores just aren’t stocking them right now, or something. So I’d have to buy online instead. I got some basic Burt’s Bees Lip Balm in a small round tin today. That was actually only $3 as well. It’s natural, minty, cooling and nice. The one problem is that you have to pry it open! Maybe us dry lipped gals should just stick with globs of Vaseline?

  4. sarapj permalink*
    February 12, 2010 12:19 pm

    No! Vaseline is bad for your skin. It doesn’t give any moisture. It just makes your lips greasy, hence the feeling of moisture.

  5. Erin permalink*
    February 14, 2010 2:40 am

    I just use it overnight on my lips, and sometimes on my cracked hands (but now I have Burt’s Bees for those). It stains my sheets, it’s so greasy!

Leave a Reply

